2014 Photo Challenges (6)

Take ten street portraits

As mentioned in yesterday’s recap post, one of the major things I took away from my collaborations with Richard Guest is his ability to walk up to strangers on the street and ask if he could take their photo. For me, a surprising number say yes, and this has resulted in a wealth of portraits (close to 200) that would not look out of place on the wall of a gallery.

The fear of approaching a stranger (or, perhaps, the fear of rejection) had prevented me from attempting to do the same, but for this year’s challenges I was determined to put this to one side and grab the proverbial bull by the horns. It turned out to be a bigger success than I had anticipated, and I have collected the results below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Over the year, I have been lucky that only one person has declined my request for a photo, and I would like to thank Dominic, Louise, Bella, Tash, Phoenix, Jess, Meg, Ken, Matthew, Twydall, Lauren, Sheridan, Aston, Stan, Phil, Louise, Nathan, John, Maria, Brad and ‘Buck’ for their generosity.

So there you have it, six challenges, five complete to varying degrees. Who knows what 2015 will bring?!

Leave a Reply

